Welcome Aboard

A few years ago I was just entering college and like most kids coming right out of high school I had no idea what career path I wanted to follow. I entered Rutgers University as a communications major, but by the second semester of my freshman year I knew that it wasn’t right for me. So I decided to enjoy the other aspects of college hoping that somewhere along the way I would figure out what I was going to do when my four years were up.

It was in the second semester of my Sophomore year that I began to actually figure out what I wanted to do. I took a writing and reporting journalism class that grabbed my attention right away. I loved everything about it; from the pressure of writing a 500 word story that had to read well in 20 minutes, to actually asking people questions in an interview like setting. They say that you never forget a good teacher and I’ll never forget the teacher of that class, he was the reason why I enjoyed the class so much. It wasn’t just because of the material that we went over, but it was mainly because I could talk sports with him. I had been starving for someone to actually talk about sports with that wasn’t ridiculously biased by their fandom.

As the years progressed I decided that I was going to settle on getting into an industry that by many accounts is “dying”. I had a reporter from a local news paper from home tell me that I should change my major because it just isn’t worth it, “go be a doctor and make six figures instead of struggling just to eat Raman” he told me. Yet I knew that covering sports and getting my opinion out there was what I wanted to do for a living no matter what anyone told me.

You see I have no idea what I would do without sports. I guess I would be amused by numerous television shows that are supposed to be providing “real-life” drama, but isn’t that what makes sports so great? What you see unfolding from your seat, couch, or local bar is really happening, it isn’t scripted and there are constant twists and turns throughout a season, so much so that even Vince McMahon is taking notes.

Not only did I find a new love for watching sports, but reading and listening to the stories that you don’t see on camera became just as important to me. Every Monday morning was occupied by Peter King and Don Banks. If Bill Simmons puts something up it has to be read immediately. I have to kick my day off with the Dan Patrick show, my girlfriend stunned me other day with this question, “Why hasn’t Chris in Syracuse called in today?” That’s true love right there.

In an attempt to get my foot in the door I created my own internet sports radio show with my roommates that lasted for about a year. I had news reporters on from around the country, but towards the end of the show I realized that I wanted to write. Your voice can be powerful and memorable, but to me a sentence, paragraph, or story that is written down has the chance to resonate inside someone. Good radio can be pushed off to the background, while a good article will always grab someone’s full attention.

That’s what I want to do with this blog. I want to grab your attention. I want you to walk away from this website wanting to talk about these topics with your friends, family, or hell even your pets. I want you to actually learn something, but I won’t dominate you with stats and numbers because sports conversations aren’t supposed to be like a lecture in math. Stats are only part of the equation, the way a player handles him/her self during/after a big moment is just as important as the box score.

So come here if you have a love for sports and want to be entertained. Come here if you want to learn, but I hope you come here because you actually care about what myself and the rest of the bloggers here have to say, because that is the key to being successful in this business. Just know that at some point I want to be told that I can no longer write on this blog. Why? Listen if I’m told that I can no longer write on this blog it means that I’m going to be making a living doing what I love to do and isn’t that what everyone wants? So I hope you’ll sit back and enjoy the ride to wherever this adventure takes us.

P.S You’ll notice above what is supposed to be my Mt.Rushmore of athletes right now, but in order to have that there has to be a fourth person. With the current state of the NHL there isn’t a polarizing figure that fits the description that I’m looking for. When a fourth person steps up (cough** Tiger winning the Masters**cough) then he/she will get put up there. If you have any ideas post them in the comments, or in an email.

Follow me on twitter @scottdargis

One thought on “Welcome Aboard”

Leave a Reply

